30 Comments
Sep 13, 2023Liked by Valerie Monroe

Ooh yes Diana Vreeland! Her artistic eye, sense of ravishing beauty and the dramatic, ahh. Boundless, witty, daring, such a force! 😍 I adored her aesthetic

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2023Liked by Valerie Monroe

So exhilarating to see the comments from all the HNTFUYF sibyls! Adding my own two cents to the wealth of wisdom:

1. L’Oréal Colour Riche Satin Lipstick In Wisteria Rose. Because it protects, moisturizes and adds a pretty pop of color.

2. I want to share one of the many pearls of wisdom that my wise and wonderful mother dispensed whenever she sensed that her teenage daughter was feeling anxious about not “measuring up.” She would say, “People are more fixated on what they think are their own ‘shortcomings’ and ‘flaws’ than on yours. So relax!” The older I get, the more this rings true. We may be our own worst critics but we can evolve to be our kindest and most supportive friends.

3. My four candidates (with a plus one) for the fantasy Mount Rushmore: My mom; Cicely Tyson; Georgia O’Keeffe; Jessica Tandy; and Joan Didion.

Expand full comment

Okay Val I have been thinking!! 😂

1. Okay, Olay, Olay!! I have tried more expensive product, but Olay feels beautiful while it goes on and my skin the next morning feels like silk.

2. SLOW DOWN! Don’t live your life like it is on fire! If you don’t you will stop in YOUR 60s and ask where did it all!!

Take you time in matters of Finances, and go even slower in matters of the heart!

The one thing you will find as the answer to every problem is - KINDNESS! Be kind to everyone-especially to those who may not be kind in return.

3. Michelle Obama

My 2 Sisters

And VAL! you give fabulous advice!!

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2023Liked by Valerie Monroe

1. Trader Joes' Ultra Hydrating Moisturizer ($8.99, baby!)

2. Not much stuff in this life is worth your psychic and physical energy especially work and relationship drama

3. Lupita Nyong'o, Sonia Sotomayor, and my mom

Expand full comment

1. Le Prunier face oil because it feels like liquid gold, smells delicious and would probably relieve sunburn.

2. I don't yet qualify, but I'm answering because it's never too early: TRUST YOURSELF. Don't let anybody fool you into thinking you don't already know.

3. Val, Beryl Markham, Eleanore Roosevelt, Ramona Quimby

Expand full comment

1. Any BeautyGrass product—maybe Golden High cleansing oil.

2. The secret to processing trauma is to “journalspeak” (Nicole Sachs) and cry. The secret to coming out of depression (usually caused by uncertainty, lack of control, and lack of information, all of which lead to paralysis) is to start taking action toward a goal you have control over. (For example, begin writing a book you’ll self-publish or create paintings to have a show.) The secret to happiness after 50 is connecting with others, learning new things and skills, and sitting outside and listening to birds singing. The secret to being beautiful after 50 is to love your changed face and body and work with what is.

3. Some women for Mt. Rushmore: Gloria Steinem, Maya Angelou, Eleanor Roosevelt, Michelle Obama, and the woman who founded AARP? Taylor Swift? Oprah?

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2023·edited Sep 7, 2023Liked by Valerie Monroe

I have to agree with Gloria: Aquaphor Healing Ointment. I live in fear of dry chapped lips. I imagine this would be an issue being deserted...

But I've given a lot of though to my Mt. Rushmore - Helen Mirren (OBVIOUSLY), Arlene Francis, Stevie Nicks, Viola Davis, Mary Oliver. (I couldn't pick just 4!)

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2023Liked by Valerie Monroe

Wonderful and thought provoking post, thank you

Expand full comment

This is such a fantastic exercise not only for the younger generation of beauties. but also for those of us over that 60 mark. It is of course not something easily answered, at least for me. I will be thinking about it for a bit, as wisdom was a slow process in most cases. Val you are quite good at these things. You have shared your wisdom each time you write HNTFUYF!! Excellent exercise lovely lady!

Expand full comment